IND vs NZ: Hardik Pandya wins toss, chooses to bowl first in 1st T20I, picks Kuldeep Yadav over Yuzi Chahal

IND vs NZ: Hardik Pandya wins toss, chooses to bowl first in 1st T20I, picks Kuldeep Yadav over Yuzi Chahal

Updated: 1 month, 22 days, 16 hours, 5 minutes, 49 seconds ago

After defeating New Zealand by 3-0 in the three-match ODI series, the Indian team will now play the three-match T20I series against the Black Caps. The first match of the T20 series between India and New Zealand will be played in Ranchi on Friday. Under the leadership of Hardik Pandya, the young team India has performed brilliantly so far.

The team would like to continue this performance going forward. At the same time, the command of New Zealand is in the hands of experienced all-rounder Mitchell Santner. However, Santner does not have much captaincy experience. In such a situation, the Indian team can take advantage of this.

Statistics of both teams

A total of 22 T20 matches have been played between India and New Zealand so far. Of these, India has won 10, while the Kiwi team has won nine matches and 3 matches are tied. Both the teams have come face to face eight times in India. Of these, Team India won five times, while New Zealand won three matches. India and New Zealand team have come face to face once in Ranchi before. In this match played in 2021, Team India had won by seven wickets.

Moreover, the Indian team has not lost to New Zealand in this format for the last 15 months. In this format, India got the last defeat from the Kiwi team on 31 October 2021. Then New Zealand defeated India in the T20 World Cup in Dubai. Since then, both the teams have faced each other five times in this format, out of which four matches have been won by India, while one match has ended in a tie.

This is the eighth bilateral T20 series between the two teams. India has won four of these series, while India has lost in three. India’s last defeat to New Zealand in T20 series was in 2018/19. Then the Kiwi team defeated India by 2–1 in the three-match T20 series.

Great captaincy from Hardik

India’s performance so far under Hardik’s captaincy has been impressive. He has captained Team India in eight T20 matches and India has won six matches out of these. Under his captaincy, the Indian team has not lost a single match so far. One match ended in a tie, while one match ended in no result. Under the captaincy of Hardik, the Indian team has won bilateral T20 series against Ireland, New Zealand and Sri Lanka. Looking at the Mission 2024 T20 World Cup, the Indian team would like to maintain the winning streak.

Read Also: Pakistani groom impresses bride by singing Bollywood song during wedding procession, video viral | WATCH

IND vs NZ T20 Schedule, Venue and Time

1st T20: January 27, at JSCA International Stadium Complex, Ranchi from 7:00 pm.

2nd T20: January 29, at Ekana Cricket Stadium, Lucknow from 7:00 pm.

3rd T20: 1st February, at Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad from 7:00 pm.

IND vs NZ T20 Squads

Team India: Hardik Pandya (Captain),Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Suryakumar Yadav (Vice Captain), Ishan Kishan (wk), and Ruturaj Gaikwad, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik, Shivam Mavi, Prithvi Shaw and Mukesh Kumar.

Team New Zealand: Mitchell Santner (Captain), Finn Allen, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman, and Dane Cleaver (wk), Devon Conway (wk), Jacob Duffy, Lockie Ferguson, Ben Lister, Daryl Mitchell, Glenn Phillips, Michael Rippon, Henry Shipley, Ish Sodhi, and Blair Tickner.

Rahul Gandhi’s Bharat Jodo Yatra called off over security lapse in Kashmir, Congress alleges sudden withdrawal of security

Rajasthan: Men steal 2 ATMs with Rs 38 lakh cash in Ajmer, video viral | WATCH

Share this: