France vs. Australia live: World Cup score, highlights, result from 2022 Group D match

France vs. Australia live: World Cup score, highlights, result from 2022 Group D match

Updated: 5 days, 18 hours, 35 minutes, 10 seconds ago

All eyes will be on France to see how their injury-ravaged squad handles their 2022 FIFA World Cup opener against Australia.

As Didier Deschamps aims to defend their title from four years ago and get over the latest injury blow with star man Karim Benzema ruled out, he'll insist dropping points against Australia isn't an option.

As for the Socceroos, with matches against Denmark and Tunisia to come they'll be hoping to find their feet against France in order to best prepare them for two much more winnable games on paper.

Sporting News is tracking live scoring updates and highlights for France vs. Australia at the 2022 World Cup. Follow below for complete results from the Group D match in Qatar.

MORE: France vs. Australia prediction, odds, betting tips and best bets

France vs. Australia score

  1H 2H Final France — — — Australia — — —

Goals:
None

Projected lineups:

France probable (3-4-1-2, right to left): 1. Lloris (GK) – 5. Kounde, 4. Varane, 21. L. Hernandez – 20. Coman, 8. Tchouameni, 25. Camavinga, 22. T. Hernandez – 7. Griezmann – 10. Mbappe, 11. Dembele  

Australia probable (3-5-2, right to left): 1. Ryan (GK) – 2. Degenek, 19. Souttar, 4. Rowles – 3. Atkinson, 13. Mooy, 22. Irvine, 10. Hrustic, Goodwin – 23. Maclaren, 15. Duke

MORE: Watch every World Cup match live with fuboTV (U.S.-only free trial)

France vs. Australia live updates, highlights from 2022 World Cup

4 hrs 30 from kickoff: Hello, and welcome to The Sporting News' live coverage of France vs. Australia!

Australia's chances have been boosted by the news of Karim Benzema being ruled out... now there's just the small matter of Kylian Mbappe, Ousmane Dembele and Antoine Griezmann and more to worry about. It will certainly be a tough opening test for the Socceroos.

France vs. Australia lineups, team news

France are heavily depleted. Starting midfielders N'Golo Kante and Paul Pogba are both missing from the tournament, having struggled with long-term injuries since the summer.

Defender Presnel Kimpembe and attacker Christopher Nkunku were both sent home after being named in the squad and Benzema will play no part in the finals because of a thigh injury.

Goalkeeper Mike Maignan (calf) is not in the squad and defenders Raphael Varane and Jules Kounde have missed chunks of the season for Manchester United and Barcelona respectively.

France probable (3-4-1-2, right to left): 1. Lloris (GK) – 5. Kounde, 4. Varane, 21. L. Hernandez – 20. Coman, 8. Tchouameni, 25. Camavinga, 22. T. Hernandez – 7. Griezmann – 10. Mbappe, 11. Dembele        

For Australia, Graham Arnold's side also have many key players under injury clouds. Starting defensive pairing Kye Rowles and Harry Souttar, as well as attacker Ajdin Hrustic, have all missed large chunks of the season.

Martin Boyle had to be withdrawn from the squad due to his knee injury, with Marco Tilio replacing him. Either Craig Goodwin or Awer Mabil will be Boyle's direct replacement in the starting side.

In a bold move to curb the reigning champions, Arnold is considering moving to a back three to combat the France attack. This could see winger Goodwin deployed as a left wing-back, and Milos Degenek, Bailey Wright or Thomas Deng drafted in a defensive three.

Australia probable (3-5-2, right to left): 1. Ryan (GK) – 2. Degenek, 19. Souttar, 4. Rowles – 3. Atkinson, 13. Mooy, 22. Irvine, 10. Hrustic, Goodwin – 23. Maclaren, 15. Duke      

France vs. Australia live stream, TV channel

  Date Time TV Channel Streaming USA Tuesday, Nov. 22 14:00 EST FOX, Telemundo fuboTV, Fox Sports site/app, Telemundo Deportes site/app, Peacock Canada Tuesday, Nov. 22 14:00 EST CTV, TSN, RDS (French) CTV site/app, TSN site/app UK Tuesday, Nov. 22 19:00 GMT BBC BBC iPlayer, BBC website Australia Wed, Nov. 23 06:00 AEDT SBS SBS On Demand India Wednesday, Nov. 23 00:30 IST Sports18 Voot, JioTV Hong Kong Wed, Nov. 23 03:00 HKT Now TV (Ch. 616, 618) Now TV Malaysia Wed, Nov. 23 03:00 MYT Astro Astro GO Singapore Wed, Nov. 23 03:00 SGT StarHub (Ch. 251/252), Singtel TV Singtel TV GO, CAST, StarHub TV+, MeWatch New Zealand Wed, Nov. 23 08:00 NZDT Sky Sport 7 beIN Sports Sky Go, Sky Sport NOW

Watch the match on fuboTV in USA